Cortex 320 Firmware Upgrade and Rollback Procedures

The new generation Cortex 320/360 units from Davicom are virtually “unbrickable” because the Cortex firmware can be re-installed from a USB image file.

The Cortex units also offer stress-free firmware upgrades. The dual-firmware memory slots allow users to roll back to the previous firmware version in case the upgrade creates problems with the current I/O configuration. Performing a firmware rollback recuperates the previous I/O configuration associated with the previous firmware version.

Cortex 320 firmware upgrade & rollback using a browser or DavLink (see screenshots below).

CAUTION: Please remove all signal and accessory cable connections before doing the Firmware Upgrade procedure.

1a – Connect to the Cortex 320 unit using a browser (Chrome recommended).
1b – Go to System/Administration.
1c – Click Firmware Upgrade and then browse to locate the firmware file to use. (Find the latest firmware on the Software & Firmware page of the DEX support portal: https://dex.davicom.com/documents-downloads/software-firmware/)
1d – Select the file and click open to start the upgrade and wait until the unit reboots (3-4 minutes).
1e – Reconnect to the unit and confirm the new firmware version is listed as the Current Firmware.
NOTE: Firmware versions shown in the screenshot below may be different than yours.

Cortex 320 firmware rollback using either a browser or DavLink (Load Previous)

PART 1- Using a browser or Davlink:

2.1a – Connect to the Cortex 320 unit using a browser (Chrome recommended).
2.1b – Go to System/Administration.
2.1c – Click the Load Previous button. See screenshots above.
2.1d – The unit will reload the previous firmware version and its associated I/O configuration.
2.1e – The unit will then reboot and start up with the previous configuration.

PART 2- Using the front-panel Pause & Local buttons on the Cortex 320:

2.2a – To start the Reload Previous process, disconnect power to the unit for about 10 seconds.
2.2b – Re-connect power and wait until the blue LEDs on the front panel light up.
2.2c – Press and hold the LOCAL button until the Activity LED starts blinking rapidly.
2.2d – Press LOCAL button repeatedly to toggle between Communications, UserOnline and Activity LED’s.
2.2e – Release the LOCAL button when the UserOnline LED is on.
2.2f – Press the PAUSE button to start the Reload Previous process.
2.2g – The LOCAL LED will blink for a few seconds to confirm success of the Reload Previous process.
2.2h – The unit will reload the previous firmware version and its associated I/O configuration.
2.2i – The unit will then reboot and start up with the previous configuration.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 59

Leave a Reply