How to Open and Merge Cortex Workspaces

Opening a Cortex Workspace that is not loaded into a unit serves three main purposes:

  1. To examine it, if, for example, you don’t remember what it looks like or what is its purpose)
  2. To edit it,
  3. Or to merge it with another Workspace.

To examine a Workspace

To look at a Workspace, connect to a Cortex unit and enable the Edit mode (for more information about the Edit mode, see the following article: Graphic edition menu explained).

Next, from the floating toolbar, click on Open From PC.

A Workspace Merge warning message will come up. Since you only want to look at the Workspace, click No.

A browser window opens, and from there you can browse to the Workspace location (local disk, USB stick, LAN storage device, etc.). Once the Workspace is selected, it is automatically loaded and appears on screen. At this point, the newly loaded Workspace is only loaded in your web browser, so there is no danger to damage it or erase it, and it is the same for any of the Workspaces that are loaded in the unit.

When you are done with the viewing, disable the Edit mode, and log out of the unit.

To edit a Workspace

For information on how to edit a Workspace, please see the following article: Introduction to Workspace edition, creation and saving.

To merge a Workspace

The merging of Cortex Workspaces requires you to be connected to a unit. The actual merging takes place in the web browser on your computer, but the two sources are the computer and the Cortex unit. It is only possible to merge an external Workspace (from the computer) with one that is already loaded in a unit.

To merge an external Workspace with one that is already in a unit, walk through the first three steps given at the top of this article, and when you get the Workspace Merge warning message, click on Yes.

A browser window opens, and from there you can browse to the Workspace location (local disk, USB stick, LAN storage device, etc.). Once the Workspace is selected, it is automatically loaded and merged with the one currently being displayed. At this point, the newly merged Workspace is only loaded in your web browser. The merging action consists of adding all the display tabs (if many are present) from the loaded Workspace into the Workspace that is already being displayed.

IMPORTANT: When merging two workspaces having multiple tabs, no two tabs can have the same name, otherwise these tabs will not merge. Before doing a merge, check the two Workspaces separately to check the tab names, and rename any tabs having redundant names using the Edit mode, and then do the merge. In the advent of trying to merge Workspaces containing identical names, a warning message will appear.

After the merge, if needed, you can edit the new Workspace, and when everything is OK, you must save this Workspace on your computer. Once it is ready to use on the Cortex, the Workspace must be uploaded to the unit. For information on how to upload a Workspace in a Cortex, please see the article How to upload a Workspace into a Cortex.

When you are done, disable the Edit mode, and log out of the unit.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 6

Leave a Reply