DV-200 unit versus DavLink Software

The Davicom unit is a rack-mounted stand-alone unit that you install at the remote site and DavLink is the software you install on your computer in order to communicate with Davicom units. Although many Network Operation Centres (NOCs) continuously display DavLink screens, DavLink is not required for normal day-to-day operation of the Davicom since the units have built-in intelligence.

It is important to understand what information is stored in a Davicom unit, versus that which is stored by DavLink in a computer. This way, when you communicate with a Davicom unit using a telephone, you will know what information the Davicom can provide by itself. Also, when you use DavLink on someone else’s computer, you will have access to all the information stored in the Davicom unit, but will be aware of what might not be available on that other computer.

Connect/Disconnect versus Logon/Logoff

IMPORTANT NOTE: For increased security, each Davicom unit and each installation of DavLink have their own distinct logons and information storage.

When you connect to a Davicom unit using a touch-tone telephone or the Connect icon (), you have to provide a valid Davicom username and password. The Davicom unit will compare the user data that is provided with authorized users that have been stored in its memory.

When you start the DavLink software, you have the option of logging-on to the program by clicking the Logon/Logoff icon (). This logon gives you access to the DavLink edit mode which allows you to create, edit and delete personalized monitoring and control screens called workspaces.

Logging-on to DavLink also gives you access to your site directory (). The directory is a quick and convenient way to connect to any of your Davicom units without having to remember phone numbers/addresses, usernames and passwords. Although logging on to the DavLink software allows you to connect to Davicom units via the directory, these two functions (Logon and Connect) are completely independent and each use different usernames, access levels and passwords. The database in DavLink contains both the usernames and passwords to logon to the DavLink directory, as well as the usernames and passwords to connect to each individual Davicom unit.

In order to avoid any security breach, you should disconnect from the Davicom unit once you are done by clicking the Disconnect icon (), or with the 99# touch-tone command. You should also logoff from DavLink (if applicable) using the Logon/Logoff icon ().

Information stored in the unit’s memory versus that in your computer

Davicom unit usernames and passwords, site identification, input/output configuration, automatic actions, alarm settings and calibration data are all stored in the memory of the remote site unit, and can be saved as a cfg file.

All Dial Directory and DavLink User Information, as well as Workspace (mcw) files are stored directly in your computer.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 48

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *